What is SO special about January?

As a college student the month of January brings about so many monumental events.  For every student it brings about the new year.  Every New Years collegiate members throughout the country vow that THIS will be the year!  The year that the grades finally evolve to that which they should be, the year that you actually go to the HAC and workout as much as you should, or the year that you WILL get involved in the Speech and Debate team.

For freshmen January brings the month that you FINALLY get to return to the golden land of campus.  After living on your own for a little under five months, that solid December back home is great…for about the first 3 weeks.  January finally restores things back to normal and you are again footloose and fancy free!

Happy Friday all of you college students!

For sophomores, January is the first month of their second spring semester.  This is (at least it was for me) the first semester that everything began to fall into place.  I was able to take upper level classes, I had established a firm presence on campus, and I had more than a year and a half of college life under my belt!

For juniors (as I am classified), January is the beginning of the end.  The last semester before we are forced to come to the realization that we will be seniors.  As of January we have officially completed more than half of our college years.  For some students that may bring a joyful cheer, but for me and most other Millsaps students this realization is often unwanted.  Those first three years of college are the glory years!  No resumes, no real life job applications, no post grad job interviews, but this is all about to change!  After this semester (and for most during this semester) all of the above will begin and the real world will begin knocking at our door.

For seniors January is the beginning of the end.  At the end of this semester their college lives will come to a screeching halt and the real world will begin.  Millsaps will have done her best to prepare them, but we can only hope they will heed her four years of wisdom.

This January brought a much different experience for me.  Unlike the past two Januarys this is the first that I have not returned to Mother Millsaps.  Whoa Whoa Whoa before you start those rumors flying, I have technically returned; however, not physically.  Because I am studying abroad I remain a student at Millsaps, but the semester in Liechtenstein does not begin until the end of February so as all of my Millsaps life returns to normal I remain at home for another month.

This was just too cool not to add...

Most would be thrilled to remain home for 3 months instead of one for Christmas break, I am not one of them.  Don’t get me wrong I love being home around my family and friends, but I didn’t anticipate missing my Millsaps life this much!  I find myself spending my free time talking to friends at Millsaps asking about all the happenings and everything that I am missing out on.  At nights after work I return home to eagerly check Facebook for the latest pictures hoping to catch a glimpse of that campus I miss so much! Who would have thought that a Twit pic in the Caf would make me so “homesick”?! 

I have come to realize that my longing for Millsaps is a result of just how much I love that place.  I haven’t even missed out on an entire week, but I already miss the camaraderie of the residence buildings, the boisterous noise in the Caf, the mysteries of Millsaps night life, and even those late nights in the library!  I am thankful for my extra time at home, and I am eager to spend the next few months in Europe, but I had to put it on the world-wide web that I MISS MILLSAPS. 

Yes there you go world, I am confessing that I am a nerd, I love my college, and I miss it!  I will soon return for one last visit before I span the pond, but I can assure you it won’t be the same.  I am beyond fortunate to have been given the opportunity to attend a college I love so much.  I can only hope that as those of you who are beginning your college search you consider this?  Wouldn’t you like to choose a school that after only a week you are dying to go back?!  What other college do you know that can provide that kind of experience?  Millsaps College surely can!

Oh and PS- For my roommate who of course never reads this I miss you too Hannah Enloe!

Comments are closed.